Print Friendly and PDF

The Koirala family is a Nepali political family which was key to the organization and development of Nepali Congress and politics of Nepal since first democratic movement. Three members of the family Matrika Prasad Koirala (1912–1997), Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala (1914–1982) and Girija Prasad koirala (1922–1974)have been Prime Minister of Nepal. The contribution of the first two in the institutionalization of nationalism in Nepal has also been highly acknowledged. Many members of the family have joined other political parties as well.